New Creations

March 25, 2017 – Saturday
new
Read:  2 Corinthians 5:16 – 17, NIV
Focus:  v. 17, NIV

 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!

I have had the privilege of working on or using, or driving, or possessing some new things over the years. There is something special about a brand new car, or a newly built home. A new suitcase just begs to be used on a trip or a vacation. I remember getting a brand new large leather suitcase in a nice manly tan color. That was one of the gifts I received at a party given by my church family when I was ready to head off to college for the first time. I had that suitcase for many, many years before giving it away. It was still in pretty good working condition some years later when I did, so you know it was of very good quality. I never used that suitcase without remembering that night it was given to me and the love those people gave along with their many gifts and messages.

I have seen many come to faith in Christ over the years of ministry (I never kept track of the numbers) but the majesty of that new life in Christ never wears off for me. Often I would see an outward as well as an inward change in a person’s life as a result of their becoming a new believer in Christ. They were truly “different” and I do not mean in a strange way. They were changed so dramatically that this expression in 2 Corinthians 5:17 is truly inspired of God. “If anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come.” What a statement! Rufus McDaniel got it right in that old gospel classic, Since Jesus Came into My Heart. He wrote, “What a wonderful change in my heart has been wrought Since Jesus came into my heart!” Glorious words for a glorious event in one’s life. It is far different to be on the outside looking in when this event happens to someone else. They are experiencing something you may not have ever experienced. If this is the case then I pray that you, too, will make the choice to be one of those whose life has been changed. The one changed sees things with new eyes. His spiritual eyes have been opened and things once so hazy are now much clearer. Life seems so much brighter and meaningful!

The rest of verse 17 goes on to say, “The old has gone, the new is here!” If you are saved and you know it, “Say, AMEN!” So go the words of an old chorus we used to sing. Is it true for you? Oh, I do hope so!

Leave a Reply

