Set Your Heart on Things Above

March 24, 2017 – Friday
set free
Read:  Colossians 3:1 – 11, TLB
Focus:  vv. 1 & 10

Since you became alive again, so to speak, when Christ arose from the dead, now set your sights on the rich treasures and joys of heaven where he sits beside God in the place of honor and power.

You are living a brand new kind of life that is continually learning
more and more of what is right, and trying constantly
to be more like Christ who created this new life within you.

I have a constant war within me when it comes to “Grace.” It is not by choice, believe me! It just seems ingrained and natural. I love to have boundaries set for me so that I know what to do and say. Just tell me the rules and I will follow them, and teach others to do the same. Not everyone is like that – some rejoice in a freedom to create and explore and maybe even test every boundary they encounter! Well, I have decided to try for a middle road while on earth here: I will obey God’s laws and the laws of the land, but I will strive for mercy and love and kindness to those who are “free-thinkers.”

Colossians 3 talks about the fact that since I am now alive in Christ, I can look forward to the joys of Heaven and all the treasures there, especially Jesus Himself and the Father God. I can let Heaven fill my thoughts and not so much my earthly problems. But, while I remain here there are all sorts of awful sinful things I must not do: evil desires, sexual sin, impurity, idolatry, anger, hatred, cursing, lying, to name a few. I can do some fun, free-thinking while I stay within the boundaries. It is a win-win situation for me – I have set my heart on what is above AND I have work to do while I prepare for the day when I can claim my inheritance!

Verse 10 explains what I mean. Because of my brand new life in Christ, and my desire to be in Heaven with Him, I am continually learning more and more of what is right, and trying constantly to be more like Him. I am no longer BOUND by the old Law but I strive to please Him and live in love and thankfulness to Him. And, I can do it in His power!

Leave a Reply

