Day 21 – Collected Tears

Saturday – December 17, 2016

Read: Psalm 56:8
Focus: vs 8
day-21
“You have seen me tossing and turning through the night. You have collected all my tears and preserved them in your bottle. You have recorded every one in your book.”

I have decided that the ability to cry is a loving gift from our creator. I hadn’t thought of it that way until the last few years. I remember when my husband had his massive heart attack in 2006. I was so scared and lost that I almost shut down. I didn’t dare cry because I knew that if I started I would not be able to stop! Thankfully, my family stayed with me the whole time, understanding, waiting, and helping. Together they held me up. I remember that when the tears finally began, the release was more hopeful and cleansing – by then they were from not only fear but also from thankfulness. The pressure that had built up inside me needed a release valve, which the tears provided – such a gift from my all-wise Creator!

Even with those tears, by myself I could not have made it. That is the blessing of sharing with others. I have had friends and family cry with me/for me, and I can do the same for them. When they find it impossible to act, or even talk, I can pray, in tears, for their needs. God sees these tears and helps us. Our verse says He even keeps them in a bottle. I am not sure just how He does that, but if He counts them precious, then I do, too.

This Christmas, and all year long, be available to meet with others in any way possible – in conversation, in prayer, in celebration or in tears . . . . We have been blessed to bless others and God will help us to do so, if we ask Him.

MAR

Leave a Reply

