Day 13 – A Life of Faith

Friday – December 9, 2016

Read: Galatians 2:17-21
Focus: vs 20
day-13
“I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”

A gift! That’s what it is! The Christ who gave Himself for me now lives in me. All of us as believers can claim that. I guess the real question would be, “Are we really letting Christ live in us?” We’ll come back to this in a moment.

Most of us would agree that children are a gift from God. I found out that children in the abstract, is a lot different than children in the here and now. I have to admit that when we married the thought of children was a lot different than actually having them. Something else we discovered is that we gave our children a lot of us. That is, the more time that goes by the more we recognize ourselves in their makeup. Others see us in them as well.

Back to our first thought now – it is really important that when others see us they also see Christ living in us. I guess what I was trying to say in the paragraph above is that just as others see the parents in how the children look, act and in the talent (or lack thereof), and character traits they show to those around them, just so, do others see the character traits of Jesus in us as we allow Him to live His life in us.

How did Jesus live His life while He was here on this earth? First, it was His desire to please His Father in heaven in all that He said and did. Therefore, He always acted and spoke in ways that glorified God. The Apostle Paul, who wrote about Christ living in us also wrote this Letter to the Galatians about how to live as Jesus lived. One passage in Galatians, chapter 5, compares Christ’s love for his Church with a husband’s love for his wife. We husbands are to love our wives as Christ loves the Church. Christ’s love for the Church is so complete and so great that He even went to the Cross for her. So, how does Christ living in us show itself to the world? It happens through the complete love He enables us to show others, even those not part of the Church. How else are they to be drawn to share in Christ Jesus? This wonderful gift of Christ in us is the fulfillment of the Gift presented on that first Christmas morning. Born physically – now born in us! “Dear Lord, I need Your help to truly live this life of faith. My understanding is that this involves letting Jesus live His life through us – not just His kind of life but His life lived through us.”

ROW

Leave a Reply

