Day 4 – Share the Kindness

Wednesday – November 30, 2016

Read: Titus 3:1-8
Focus: vs 8
day-4

“These things I have told you are all true. Insist on them
so that Christians will be careful to do good deeds all the time. For this is not only right, but it brings results.”

Remember that we have all sinned and been disobedient and hateful, as Titus speaks of here. But while we were full of sin, God saved us – not because of our goodness, but because of His kindness. He washed away our sin and gave us joy with the indwelling of His Holy Spirit. He declared us “good in His sight” and now we are to share that kindness with others. Because of Christ’s example, we are to be careful to do good deeds all the time, to the unlovely, as well as the lovely.

Now, it is fairly easy to be kind to those nice people that we meet – anyone can do that. But we are to extend the gift of kindness to everyone. It is to be intentional and frequent – sort of “paying it forward.” We are all busy people just taking care of family, etc., and so this may require an extra effort from each of us, but God is faithful to help, and He will not ask more of us than we are able to do.

I recall one Thanksgiving season when there were several fairly expensive items on my list of felt needs. I was praying about them and trusting that God would supply in the important areas if I had my priorities straight and was truly giving Him first place. Turns out, several people who knew me were the kind who listen to God – and the kind who were eager to let His kindness flow out through them. All of my needs were met and I am sure they each received extra blessings in their life! For me it was a very humbling experience and one that I will never forget. “I have been shown so much kindness, Lord! Please help me to pass it on, that others may be blessed and drawn closer to You.”

MAR

Leave a Reply

