Day 38 – It Is FINISHED!

Friday – March 18, 2016

Day 38 – John 19:1-30 finished.png

Focus: vs. 30

 30 When he had received the drink, Jesus said, “It is finished.” With that, he bowed his head and gave up his spirit.

It is a real feeling of relief that comes over me when I have completed some project or done something that needed to be done and often dreaded doing. This is true if I have built something that I knew my wife wanted and it is true when I have completed a difficult task which I really did not want to do. There is relief that the job is done. Sometimes there is even a joy that comes knowing something hard to deal with has been taken care of satisfactorily. I experienced that when I made the final commitment to become a minister of the Gospel. I have also experienced relief and joy after completing a particularly difficult funeral service. There have been numerous times throughout my life when God has given me joy and peace.

Our focus verse reminds us that Jesus has finished something very difficult. He died on that Cross in the same manner any of us would have died in that situation. It was painful. It was slow. It was difficult. It was God’s will. I would like to call your attention back to verse 28 where we are told, 28 Later, knowing that everything had now been finished, and so that Scripture would be fulfilled, Jesus said, “I am thirsty.” Jesus knew at this point that the purpose of His going to the cross had been completed. Redemption was now available for all of mankind. His job was done. His purpose for becoming flesh way back at the beginning of John’s Gospel was done once and for all. So now, “It is FINISHED!” was a valid cry from His lips and He could enter the tomb in peace. More than that, I believe there was a great sense of joy and satisfaction in His heart that Satan had been defeated. What would appear to be victory for the enemy of our souls actually became Victory for the heavenly Kingdom.  Jesus is finished and He is victorious. That final declaration of Victory will come in just a short time. But the redemption of mankind was finished by Jesus’ death on our behalf on that cross.

His death on that cross also declared, “Finished!” to your debt and mine because of our sins. They can be forgiven and forgotten because Jesus died on our behalf. Have you received that forgiveness for yourself? If not please ask Jesus to forgive you and find His dwelling place in your heart. For believers, Jesus did a completed work on that cross so act on His sacrifice and stay true to Him.

Prayer Focus: Lord Jesus, I claim forgiveness in Your name for all my sins. Thank You for making me your child. AMEN.

Leave a Reply

