Day 30 – The Helper Will Come

Thursday – March 10, 2016

Day 30 – John 14:15-31 spirit

Focus: vs. 26

26 But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, he will teach you all things and bring to your remembrance all that I have said to you.

Jesus talked about the Holy Spirit and His coming several times in the accounts of the various Gospel writers. He is also mentioned several times in the Old Testament writings. As near as I can tell from my own experiences and from what I have witnessed He must be actually experienced to even begin to understand His activity and purpose for the believer. As a young person who grew up in The Wesleyan Church during the 1950’s and 1960’s, I was often told about the Holy Spirit but never really understood about Him until I finally experienced His presence in a personal way during revival meetings at Houghton College. Dr. O. G. Wilson, one of the great evangelists in The Wesleyan Church back then, was the speaker. We were always encouraged to seek His presence through prayer, commitment and a loving lifestyle. But it was as Dr. Wilson was preaching on the sanctified life that I began to earnestly seek the Holy Spirit’s presence as an active force in my life. It was then that He filled me with the joy and love of His presence in such a way that it was unmistakable what was happening.  I cannot truly express just how I knew He had taken over my life that night. You have to experience Him to begin to understand Him. It is only then that He can teach you all the things of God and bring to remembrance all the things Jesus has said. For us that is through His Word. That is one of the reasons immersing yourself in the Word of God is so important. There have been many times since then that He has blessed me with His personal touch in unmistakable ways.

Everyone should re-read Acts 1 and 2 in the light of this portion from John’s Gospel. The Helper, the Holy Spirit, will teach us and bring to our remembrance all Jesus has said to us. This is His major purpose for interacting with us. May I encourage you to use a good reference Bible to discover the references to the Holy Spirit and His tasks among the people of God?  You will only benefit from a study of that sort. If you have questions during your study please contact Pastor Dan or Pastor Rowland and we would be happy to share with you.

If Jesus said God was going to send a Helper then it must mean we are going to need a Helper, else why send Him? It should be obvious to all of us by now that living a life as Christ’s disciple is impossible in our own strength and understanding. We desperately need the help that can come only from God through His Holy Spirit.

Prayer Focus: Come, Holy Spirit, I need Thee. Come, sweet Spirit, I pray. Come in Thy strength and Thy power. Come, in Thine own gentle way. Father, I humbly ask for Your Spirit’s presence to be made known in and through my life now and forevermore. AMEN.

Leave a Reply

