Day 28 – Love One Another

Tuesday – March 8, 2016

Day 28 – John 13:31-38 love

Focus: vss. 34-35

 34 A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another. 35 By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.”

One of my favorite things is to see the Church being the Church. What a joy to almost feel prideful when the church you serve really acts like the Church of Jesus Christ! I know it is not us but the Holy Spirit residing within us that makes that possible. It is so easy to get caught up in the sheer busy-ness of life so that we set everything else aside to accomplish what we think needs to be accomplished. Sadly, it is often our own desires that we feel need to be accomplished; our pet projects, our concerns with sometimes no regard for what concerns our Lord.

Recently I read on the internet how a church I once served has reached out to the hurting and even in the midst of their hurt have ministered to broken and hurting families. This is the kind of compassion our Lord wants His people to show. How did Jesus love? Whatever the answer to that might be it is the way we are to love others, especially others of like precious faith. How did Jesus love? He loved unreservedly with His whole being even unto death on a cross. He loved so completely that He gave up His glory with the Father to spend time on this earth and die such a cruel death just to show us the way, and to be the Way that we might have eternal life.

Do you think that if we loved each other like Jesus others would see that and want to be part of it? The latter part of Acts 2 would appear to indicate that. How do you love one another? Or, are you too caught up in trying to see if others love you, just like you love them, to actually see them as ones to really love with the love only Christ can give.

Prayer Focus: Lord Jesus, my heart is afflicted with sorrow for my lack of love not only for my brothers and sisters in Christ but sadly often there is a lack of real love for You. Forgive me and help me by Your Spirit to begin to grow more and more into being the loving brother or sister you want me to be. You are my Brother, Lord, and I so want to be faithful to your “new commandment” to love one another.  AMEN.

Leave a Reply

