Day 26 – The Servant King

Sunday – March 6, 2016

Day 26 – John 13:1-20 feet

Focus: vss. 3-5

Jesus, knowing that the Father had given all things into his hands, and that he had come from God and was going back to God, rose from supper. He laid aside his outer garments, and taking a towel, tied it around his waist. Then he poured water into a basin and began to wash the disciples’ feet and to wipe them with the towel that was wrapped around him.

Pastor Dan was talking one recent Sunday about having “beautiful feet” and I could not help but think how un-beautiful my feet are. At least, in my eyes, they are very ugly. You will never see me wearing sandals in public, let alone without any socks on! I can remember how self-conscious I was the first time I took part in a foot-washing service. And that was at a time when my feet were relatively sound! I was overwhelmed when the pastor placed my feet in warm water and then soaped, washed, rinsed and dried them gently. This man of God had gently asked if he could wash my feet. My heart was already broken and this was before he actually washed them. The humility and loving care he took gave me a new appreciation for what Peter must have felt when Jesus washed his feet.

Our focus verses point out that Jesus was fully aware of just Who He was, and Is! He had all the authority of the Creator God and yet He humbly knelt and washed His disciples’ feet as if he were a lowly servant or even a slave. All the glory of the Godhead resided in Him and still He knelt before His disciples. For what purpose was this done? Everything was escalating in Jesus’ life right then. Soon He would give His life on a cruel Roman cross. He took this time to illustrate to His followers just what He wanted them to be like, especially in their relationships with one another. Is this how you see the Church of Jesus Christ acting in this day? Are you, as a part of His Church acting in this way? Better yet, for me anyway, am I acting in this way? Foot washing for most of the Church has fallen into disarray. Only a few communions practice it and even fewer consider it on a par with The Lord’s Table. Yet Jesus did this at the same time He instituted The Lord’s Table. Is the lesser infringement on our sovereignty an improvement when it comes to our interaction with our brothers and sisters? Those who practice this regularly hold foot washing for men and women in separate rooms so that should not be an issue. Can we lower ourselves to the status of a servant in the eyes of our brothers and sisters in Christ?

Prayer Focus: Lord, others, may this my portion be to seek and serve others as if I were serving Thee. Forgive my insensitivity to You and a lack of dependence on Your way of service. Help me to not pick and choose what I will do but only to ask Your will and that will become Your task for me. AMEN.

Leave a Reply

