Day 24 – But for this Purpose

Friday – March 4, 2016

Day 24 – John 12:20-36 purpose

Focus: vss. 27-28

27 “Now is my soul troubled. And what shall I say? ‘Father, save me from this hour’? But for this purpose I have come to this hour. 28 Father, glorify your name.” Then a voice came from heaven: “I have glorified it, and I will glorify it again.”

The English Standard Version (ESV) translates a portion of our key verse as “But for this purpose….” That is where we got the title for this devotional. I guess the question that comes to mind is, “Do you have a purpose for being here?” Jesus knew His purpose for coming to the earth. I have been in some places where I have wondered just exactly why I was there. Now usually I am very aware of why I have been called to a particular place or situation but there have been times when I was unsure. Those times have called for a great deal of prayer and thought. Over time God has finally gotten through to me just why I was there. Sometimes it was even for my own spiritual growth. I had to depend more and more on the Lord just to carry on. As a result I grew spiritually in my relationship with the Lord. Other times I have known that others needed to be lifted up and, even occasionally, I knew I was called to give a word of caution to some who had overreached their authority within the Body of Christ. Thankfully, that has not happened often.

Jesus knew He was sent from God the Father for the purpose of bringing salvation through faith in His name to those who believe. This was His purpose for coming to this earth. Jesus Christ is at the center of our relationship with the Father. It is only through Him that we can enter into a real relationship with God.

How about you? Have you discovered your reason for being here? First, that is so you could begin to have a relationship with God through Jesus His Son. Second, in some form, your purpose is to also help others know about the possibility of a relationship with God. Most of the time we show this through our actions, how we live; but sometimes we just have to tell them why we live the way we do and how they can also live a full, productive and meaningful life through faith in Jesus Christ. What is your purpose for being?

Prayer Focus: Lord Jesus, we are thankful that You came to this earth with a purpose. You fulfilled Your Father’s will through your life, death and resurrection. Help me to fulfill Your purpose for me in this life and to fully do so in the life to come when we enter into Your Glory. Help me know Your will and plan for my life and strengthen me to fulfill it with Your help.  AMEN.

Leave a Reply

