Day 22 – You Will Not Always Have Me

Wednesday – March 2, 2016

Day 22 – John 12:1-11 annointing

Focus: vs. 8

 8 “For the poor you always have with you, but you do not always have me.”

The apparent basis for this portion of scripture was to highlight the gratitude Mary showed to Jesus for Him bringing Lazarus literally back from the dead.  There are at least four things that can be taken from the passage: 1. Mary’s gratitude; 2. Judas’ upcoming betrayal; 3. Jesus’ impending death; 4. Lazarus’ testimony. We will look at only two of these today.

Our key verse indicates that Jesus does not expect to live a long life on this earth: You will always have the poor among you, but you will not always have me” (verse 8). The point is that there is a time and place for everything. Jesus might well have quoted from the Ecclesiastes about this.  Notice that Jesus did not say we are to do nothing for the poor.  He is speaking about this particular moment in time when Mary, without knowing it, anointed Him for burial.

I take it that Jesus was actually honored by Mary’s act. Has anyone ever done something special for you that left you feeling honored by them? This has happened many times over the years for me and my family. Various individuals and churches have gone out of their way to help us with something we were unable to handle by ourselves. I could give you several instances but there’s just not enough room in this devotional to do so. The point is that we are to remember the poor among us and help them all we can but also that our Lord is important and in our own way we can show how we feel about Him. What have you done for Jesus lately?

The second thing I would like to remark on is found down in verse 11, 11 for on account of him many of the Jews were going over to Jesus and believing in him.” The very fact of Lazarus standing among those around Jesus, Martha and Mary was a testimony of the power of the Christ to act on behalf of others. Many had believed in Jesus because of the presence of Lazarus. I’m sure you have never been resurrected from the dead but you have been spiritually resurrected because of Jesus Christ. How does your presence testify to that fact to those around you? What is your testimony? We have heard several testimonies in the past few weeks during the morning worship times. These have been very uplifting and proof of the impact our Savior has had on each of us. What is your testimony? Have you ever tried to write it out? Why not do that as an exercise today?

Prayer Focus: Lord Jesus, please show me how I can show my love and appreciation for the things you have done for me and those I love. Mary did it by anointing Your feet. Help me to anoint You through my actions and the love I show for others. May these things be expressions of my love for You. AMEN.

Leave a Reply

