Day 20 – The Resurrection and the Life

Monday – February 29, 2016

Day 20 – John 11:1-44 lazarus

Focus: vss. 25-26

25 Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life. The one who believes in me will live, even though they die; 26 and whoever lives by believing in me will never die. Do you believe this?”

This is one of my favorite stories from the Bible. Not many people in this world or in all of time have ever been a part of this kind of an event. I have officiated at many funerals over my years of service as a pastor and have used this passage several times as the basis for my message to those who are grieving. Even if I did not use it every time I preached a funeral sermon, somewhere along the way I have at least mentioned it. Many are the times when I would have liked to have Jesus step in and raise someone’s loved one from the dead. Can you imagine the reactions of those looking on? Well, it was not all that different in Jesus’ day when He raised Lazarus from the dead. Some, especially the family, were extremely joyful over having their loved one return from the dead. Others looking on were glad for the family’s sake and likely amazed over this miraculous thing that happened. Still others were dismayed about this turn of events. They were not fans of Jesus and wanted to see Him fail.

Our key verses contain Jesus’ great statement, “I am the resurrection and the life” (v. 25). Jesus, just before this, had stated to Martha that her brother will rise again. She apparently believed in the resurrection and replied quite rightly in verse 24, “I know he will rise again in the resurrection at the last day.” Jesus then clarifies His earlier statement with the words we now rejoice in, I am the resurrection and the life.  Jesus then goes on to say to Martha concerning Himself as The Resurrection that belief in Him as the resurrection and the life will live (see verse 25b). We need to remember that The Resurrection and The Life were not just titles for Jesus. They were and are Him in fact. He IS The Resurrection and He IS The Life. Martha’s response was in regard to Who Jesus was by giving voice to Him as “the Christ, the Son of God, who was to come into the world” verse 27b). The reality that Jesus was delivering to Martha was that the power to resurrect and to give life were within Him. Then He proved it.

Is Jesus truly The Resurrection and The Life to you? Do you believe this implicitly with no reservations?

Prayer Focus: Lord Jesus, I come to you today with a needy and hurting heart. I confess that I have not completely understood how truly powerful and loving You are. Warm my heart by Your Holy Spirit so that I may truly believe in Your power over life and death. Resurrect my soul into greater believing faith to see Your ability to resurrect whom You will when You will. Thank You for the resurrection of my spirit unto eternal life.  AMEN.

Leave a Reply

