Day 18 – The Good Shepherd

Saturday – February 27, 2016

Day 18 – John 10:1-21 shepherd

Focus: vs. 11

11 “I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep.”

This passage is about another of “The Great I Am’s” of Jesus. This one is “I am the good Shepherd.” I mentioned something about who I am in an earlier devotional but you will note that I cannot make the same claims as Jesus made. He, as the Son of God, only made truthful claims about who He is.  I can probably make some truthful claims about who I am but perhaps others may not accept those claims without some proof. The proof, of course, is in the pudding, as they say. I would have to show by my actions all the time that I am that person I claim to be. If I am caught in any small deviation from my claim then I would be said to be less than truthful and my reputation would suffer accordingly. Jesus has made this claim, and others, but has never been shown to be less than truthful. The Spirit-filled Jesus always meets the expectations He puts forth regarding Himself.

Our focus verse goes a step further with regard to this statement. Jesus said, “I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep“ (John 10:11). Notice that Jesus says He goes the extra mile for the sheep. He will lay down his life for the sheep. That would be the ultimate in shepherding, wouldn’t it? That is what Jesus has done. He is the good shepherd.

How do you stack up in this area? Are you always the epitome of who you say you are? That is probably not likely, right? But Jesus always is Who He says He is. The only way we can even come close to that is by being, as truly as we can be, the sheep of our Good Shepherd’s pasture. And we can only do that with the power of the Holy Spirit helping us to overcome our own tendencies and humanity.

Prayer Focus: Thank You, Lord Jesus, for being my Good Shepherd. Without You I would be one of the lost ones. Thank You for seeking me out and finding me. I do not understand why I am such a cause for rejoicing on Your part but I am eternally grateful for the privilege of being one of Your sheep. Please keep me safe and help me to produce even more sheep for your eternal care. AMEN.

Leave a Reply

