Day 15 – The Light of the World

Wednesday – February 24, 2016

Day 15 – John 8:12-30 toes

Focus: vs. 12

12 Again Jesus spoke to them, saying, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

I have had some epic toe-stub events in my life and I’m pretty sure all of them happen in the darkness. It happens when I think I know where I’m going so I don’t bother turn my lights on. It’s stupid, I know. Just turn the lights on and save your toes – it really is that simple. The problem is that I don’t like the light because my eyes have adjusted to the darkness and the light hurts.

The Bible talks a lot about light and dark and John uses it pretty effectively as well. In fact, the word “light” appears in the Bible around 230 times, depending on which translation you read, and around 24 times in the gospel of John. It makes a great spiritual analogy just like in our focus verse for the day. Here Jesus compares Himself to light and tells us that if we follow Him we will walk in light rather than darkness.

The older I get and the more I experience the world around me the more I understand that this world is walking in darkness. When I talk with people about Jesus and the basic principles of this world I am often amazed at how little logic goes into the thinking of so many. You can state the truth and back it up with solid facts and people will still believe whatever they want to believe. They will take an emotional argument over a logical one any day of the week. I understand this because I sometimes feel the same way. I want what I want so don’t bother me with the facts. That’s fine if what I want lines up with the truth but when it doesn’t line up I find myself choosing darkness over the light. Isn’t that what John said back in chapter 3? John 3:19 said, “And this is the judgment: the light has come into the world, and people loved the darkness rather than the light because their works were evil.”

I don’t have to stub my toes in the dark. There are light switches all around me. I have flash lights and night lights and my phone even has an app that turns on a bright light! Why should I ever stub my toes again? I could just walk in the light if I so choose. I don’t have to walk in darkness ever again because I follow Jesus. And yet, my toes still hurt.

The problem with you and me is that we like the darkness too much. We like to step out into the light every now and again but then we retreat back to the darkness where we can hide and do what we want to do. It’s pretty silly to think we’re fooling God as much as we are fooling ourselves. What would happen if we chose to step out of the darkness and stay in the light? What would your life look like?

Prayer Focus: Dear Jesus, You are the light of the world. You are the light of MY world. Please shine your light into every corner of my heart. Expose all my sin and remove it. Help me to walk in your light from this day forth. Amen.

Leave a Reply

