Day 8 – Faith in Christ Brings Healing

Wednesday – February 17, 2016

Day 8 – John 4:46-5:17 Healing

Focus: vss. 4:49-51

49 The official said to him, “Sir, come down before my child dies.” 50 Jesus said to him, “Go; your son will live.” The man believed the word that Jesus spoke to him and went on his way. 51 As he was going down, his servants met him and told him that his son was recovering.

We like to think that we are hard-wired to act only on that which we can see. I suppose an example of that is with regard to weather forecasts. I, and a lot of others, tend to think that until it happens I won’t believe what the forecaster is saying. Do I believe that what they say is possible? Yes, I do, however I am more likely to think and say that I will believe it when I see it because I have seen too many forecasts which did not work out as they said they would.

I am impressed by this official (vv. 49-51) who came down to Cana from Capernaum specifically to ask Jesus to come and heal his son. He obviously thought Jesus could do this. Capernaum was about 15 miles from Cana, so it was considered a day’s journey. He wanted Jesus to go back with him to Capernaum to heal his son. There was urgency in this request as the son was apparently so sick the father thought he would die if they did not go quickly. That would have been another day of travel. Jesus instead shows his compassion and power by healing from a distance.  I readily agree that there is a difference between a weather forecaster and what Jesus did here. Jesus was not forecasting but simply showing His power to do things as he desires. I found it interesting that this man “believed” twice. He believed Jesus could heal his son even at a distance when Jesus told him his son was healed. Then after arriving at home to discover that his son was healed at the exact time Jesus said he was healed caused him to believe again. The first time he believed Jesus could heal. This second time he believed that Jesus was the Son of God (Messiah).

It is very human to want to see something for yourself before we believe it is real. The test of faith is that we believe it will happen before we actually see it in fact. Where are you in this area? Do you still want it to happen right then before your very eyes or are you willing to take by faith that what Jesus says He will do He does?

Both stories in our reading for today speak of healing that comes about because of faith. In the second story the man by the pool was healed when he took Jesus at His word and got up, took up his mat and walked. He acted on his faith just as the official acted on his faith. The result was healing in each instance. How real and active is your faith? Is Jesus Who He says He is? If that is really true, then what is our response or reaction to Him? Jesus was asking each of these men to act out of faith. They had hope in something but they needed to act on that hope. The “if” loomed large but was supplanted by a “yes” of belief for each of them.

Prayer Focus: Lord Jesus, I often get hung up on the “if” of a situation. If I can get in the pool first, if You will come back with me – then what I desire will be given me. Help me to go directly to what I am asking and expect You to answer. Sometimes what I expect to happen does not happen but instead You answer in another and even better way. Your way is always best. I will rest on that. AMEN.

Leave a Reply

