Day 7 – Jesus Offers Living Water

Tuesday – February 16, 2016

Day 7 – John 4:1-45 Well

Focus: v. 10

10 Jesus answered her, “If you knew the gift of God, and who it is that is saying to you, ‘Give me a drink,’ you would have asked him, and he would have given you living water.”

I remember my missions professor, in college, telling our class about his experiences as a missionary in Papua New Guinea. Upon arriving and meeting the people of the village he was working in there was a welcoming feast. They would kill a large python and then cook it in the ground before serving it with rice. My professor dug right in and enjoyed a healthy portion of python and rice before realizing that there was nothing to drink in order to wash his meal down. Water was scarce in this area the inhabitants rarely drank it. Instead, they got the water they needed through what they ate. I don’t know much about the texture or taste of python but I imagine python and rice might make me look for a drink as well.

John 4:1-45 tells the story of Jesus meeting the Samarian woman at the well. Jesus talks about spiritual water, in verse 10, and spiritual food, in verse 31. He also reveals, to this Samarian woman, that He is the Messiah and that worship is a spiritual endeavor, not one where physical location matters as much as the heart.

The human body can live without food for 40 to 60 days but can live without water for only 2 to 3 days. You can imagine, then, what the woman at the well must have thought when Jesus told her she could have this living water and she would never be thirsty again! She said, “Sir, give me this water, so that I will not be thirsty or have to come here to draw water. (vs. 15)” Of course, Jesus is talking about a life-giving spiritual water from a well that can never run dry.

Does your spiritual well ever run dry? It’s not supposed to but, if your life is like mine, it gets pretty crazy sometimes and finding time to draw from the well is more difficult than it should be. I have found, over the years, that if I neglect my spiritual life for too long, I get spiritually dry. It gets hard to hear the voice of God and I begin to act as if everything around me depended on me. I start wrestling with God for control of my life. Eventually I get so spiritual bound up that I must seek the Lord, once again, with all my heart. A few hours singing hymns and reading God’s Word is sure to bring life back into my soul.

Are you thirsty? Has it been a while since you drew water from the well Jesus is talking about? Come back to the well and let God refresh your soul. Will you let God keep your spirit centered on Him? Spending time in prayer and in God’s Word are important companions to regular church attendance to help keep your spirit in the steady guidance of the Holy Spirit. Don’t give that up!

Prayer Focus: Dear Jesus, you are a well of living water that can cure my thirst forever. I need your strength to make it through all that life is going to throw at me. Help me to stay firmly rooted in You.

Leave a Reply

