Day 1 – Bearing Witness

Day 1 – John 1:1-18

Focus: vss. 6-8Justice

There was a man sent from God, whose name was John. He came as a witness, to bear witness about the light, that all might believe through him. He was not the light, but came to bear witness about the light.

            Have you ever been a part of a court proceeding? I remember being called to the witness stand during a hearing for a couple I’d been counseling with. They had difficulties and, in the midst of all that was going on, claims had been made about their fitness as parents and the state was quick to step in and remove the children from the home. This hearing was to finally settle the issue and, hopefully, return the children to the home of their parents. I won’t give you the details but I will tell you that I was on the side of the parents and not the state. I was called to the stand and questioned by lawyers for each side. My task was to bear witness to what I knew, after many months of counseling, and to offer my opinion when asked for it. The couple gave me permission to talk about our private sessions and so I bore witness the best I could. In the end, my testimony was vital in helping them secure custody of their children and end a nightmare that had lasted nearly a year.

In the midst of a very poetic beginning to this Gospel, John takes a moment to talk about another John – the Baptist – because his testimony in the matter is very important to the case. John the Baptist came to introduce the person and ministry of Jesus to the world. His testimony is as a witness to the light. This John was special but he wasn’t the light being testified about in this book.

God’s story needs to be told. When I appeared as a witness on the stand, it was in order to bear witness to my part of the story that needed to be heard. I am also a witness to my part of the story of God. My story has been woven into the story of God – my filthy rags have been sewn together with God’s kingly robes with the scarlet thread of Jesus’ blood. All of the story that has come before me is something I have accepted by faith and while I can bear witness to what I believe about the truth of that story, I can also bear witness about my own interactions with the God whose story is being told by John.

God’s story is timeless one that continues today and forever. My story has become a part of His story and He wants me to bear witness to that fact. In plain English, God wants you and me to tell the world about our own experiences with God and His desire to share His love with the world. Just as God has drawn me unto Himself, there are others He wishes to call as well. His chosen method of doing so involves you and I bearing witness to what we know. God is calling us to bear witness about the Light.

Prayer Focus: Dear Jesus, thank you for bringing light into my darkness. Help me to shine your light into the darkness of the world around me so that others may also be saved. Prepare my heart to be a witness for you. Amen.

Leave a Reply

