Homecoming

12-19

“Do not let your hearts be troubled. You believe in God; believe also in me. My Father’s house has many rooms; if that were not so, would I have told you that I am going there to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.”

 Christmas is a time for homecoming. We live in an age where children leave the home and are often a long ways away. Even a few hours is enough to reduce our visits home down to just a few a year. My first year in college was an eye-opener for me. I was 1500 miles away from my parents and coming home for Christmas just wasn’t an option. I know there are some kids out there who dislike their family enough that avoiding the homecoming is more a preference than anything else but I actually like my family! Fortunately for me, I had extended family within just a few hours that welcomed me into their home. Distance makes the heart grow fonder. It’s a true statement and it makes a homecoming all the sweeter. If the family doesn’t get together at any other time of the year, it will during the holidays.

Our passage for today is talking about the sweetest homecoming of all. Jesus talks about His Father’s house and how He is going to prepare a place for you and me. There will come a day where we will go home to be with our heavenly family. What a homecoming that will be! Do you realize that Jesus considers you family? Do you understand what that means? You are a sister or a brother to Jesus and He cares deeply for you. He enjoys your presence and wants to be with you.

When I think of all the homecomings I’ve had over the years it is hard to pinpoint the best parts. Is it the food? Is it the presents? Not really. It is the time that I get to spend with the wonderful people I get to call family. It’s the kind of time that can’t be had on the phone or the Internet. Nothing beats actually being in the presence of the ones you love. Whether it’s gathering around the table or just sitting on the couch, it’s good to be with family.

I hope you get to be with family this Christmas. Maybe it will only be your church family but know that, no matter what, you have a heavenly family that wants to spend Christmas with you this year and every year. Even if you don’t get a lot of homecomings here and now, there is a mighty big one waiting in your future. What a day of rejoicing that will be!

As you pray today, consider the importance of family around the holidays. Thank God for your family on this earth and thank Him even more for your extended family in Christ. Thank Jesus especially for the room He is preparing at His Father’s house just for you. It will be the best homecoming ever.

Leave a Reply

