God’s Higher Ways

12-11

Seek the Lord while he may be found; call on him while he is near. Let the wicked forsake their ways and the unrighteous their thoughts. Let them turn to the Lord, and he will have mercy on them, and to our God, for he will freely pardon. “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the Lord. “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.”

Working on computers for so many years has caused me to refine my problem-solving skills. Over the years I developed a method in my head for attacking the problems set before me. Think of it as an internal flow-chart that leads you on the path to eliminating all possibilities until you have a minimal number of causes left for the problem at hand. It is built on knowledge, experience and a mind that was designed more for logic than anything else. It has taken me over twenty years to get to this point.

I don’t want you to think I’m boasting. These skills are more a part of my natural make-up and a whole lot of experience. Read that as: God made me this way and I’ve managed to mess up enough times that I learned something. At the same time, the design of my mind makes me lousy at other things and there are so many areas in life I’m not good at. I need Jesus. It’s as simple as that.

Our passage tells us “Let the wicked forsake their ways and the unrighteous their thoughts.” God goes on to say, “My thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways.” Here’s the point: God’s ways are higher than our ways, His thoughts are higher than our thoughts. God has a better way of thinking.

I might be skilled at solving technical problems but God’s skills are higher than my skills. I’ve had times where I went down a rabbit trail when trying to solve a problem and it took hours before I realized what I missed. This is a little bit of what God is talking about in our passage. The wicked and the unrighteous have thoughts and ways of acting that need to be changed – they aren’t working. God is the ultimate problem-solver and his ways are higher than my ways.

Have you ever caught yourself in wrong thinking? Did you ever find yourself down a path that clearly wasn’t the path of God? I bet you have; so have I. I’ve found problems I couldn’t solve and, at times, the answer was simply to bring in someone to help. This works the same way in life. Yes, you can bring more heads together when trying to find a solution to a problem you have, but I’d suggest you bring in the smartest one you know – God. Are you in a tough bind? Are you facing a difficult decision and you don’t know what the answer is? God already knows what’s best for you. He knows the answer—His ways are higher than any other.

Christmas is about God solving our biggest problem. We were dead in our sin. We had no path to a solution. No way, no how. God’s ways, however, are higher than our ways. He had a solution that we could never come up with. He sent Jesus to come and take our sins away. He sent Jesus to breathe new life into our spirits.

As you lift your heart in prayer today, consider God’s ability to solve the greatest problem of your existence. Don’t you think He can handle the little problems as well? Consider anything that is causing you anxiety right now; think of those problems you are looking for a solution to. God knows the answer. Take it to the Lord in prayer.

 

Leave a Reply

