You Are Bigger Because God is Bigger

12-9

“But you, Bethlehem Ephrathah, though you are small among the clans of Judah, out of you will come for me one who will be ruler over Israel, whose origins are from old, from ancient times.”

Isn’t it interesting to see God at work?  Here is the prophecy of where the Promised Ruler would come.

How many of us have felt really small, and because of that have felt we were not worth much?  I have.  You see when I was young I was small.  My older brothers were all larger than I.  All the way through elementary school and half way through high school, the other boys in my grade were bigger than me.  I felt inferior.  But God had a great plan for my life, and as I accepted my size God began to work.  He showed me I would overcome.  I was in the eleventh grade in high school before I grew to my present height, but I succeeded in many areas even before I “grew up.”

Bethlehem was small, but it had something going for it.  Bethlehem was known as the “city of David”, the great king of all of Israel.  God reminded them of this in our scripture for today, “out of you will come for ME (God) one who will be ruler over Israel whose origins are from old, from ancient times.”  God is reminding them that He made a promise to David that there would be a King forever from his seed.  Just because you are small in stature does not prevent something big and wonderful from coming forth from you.  When God promises something, He keeps His promise!

In this Advent Season we celebrate the fulfillment of that Promise.  God sent His Son, born of human parents whose family ties originated with David, to be born in Bethlehem as the Ruler of Israel.  In Christ all of God’s promises are completed.  Christ came as the final sacrifice for the sin of the world and all those who believe.

As we go through this Advent Season, take the time to realize and praise God for all His blessings on your life.  Size does not matter.  God is bigger than any circumstance.  In your devotional times this season ask God to use you for His Glory to tell the world “THE SAVIOR HAS COME.”

Leave a Reply

